Campus Consortium was established in 2003 when 14 founding Higher Education institutions, including Case Western Reserve University, the Rochester Institute of Technology, University of Nevada Las Vegas, Foothill De Anza Community College District, and the University of Montana met at the annual EDUCAUSE conference in Anaheim, California to establish the mission of the Consortium, create the principles of community development and identify opportunities for collaboration. The Founding members envisioned an organization whose mission it would be to help members reduce the time, cost, and effort associated with implementing enterprise IT services by leveraging shared IT services, lessons learned, and best practices so that members can avoid reinventing the wheel when adopting new education technologies.